New Year’s Eve 2020

It is New Year’s Eve. We all woke up late, maybe it was the rain, or the holidays catching up to us. But after pancakes, tea, coffee, and our New Year’s Eve greetings, the gloomy sky called for a fire in the middle of the day. Now the sun is out. So I’ll finish writing, then turn off the fire and take my walk.

There isn’t a walk I like quite as well as after a good, hearty rain walk. Which, to a very pleasant surprise, has now happened three times this week. The air is fresh, the smell of neighbors fire places lingers and the birds are extra chirpy. I really love them.

I will walk in my flip flops today, so I don’t feel the painful blister and it will be a quick 20 minute walk. I will feel like a slacker, but will feel more refreshed and come home motivated to get to work in the kitchen. The plan is to go through every single drawer and cupboard, tidying and getting rid of anything I don’t use. All this will be done of course, with some relaxing Joni Mitchell in the background.

This simple act will make me feel more ready to ring in a new year. I know we are all looking forward to an easier, brighter, more beautiful year. But none of us have that crystal ball., that tells the future.

I am one of those people, who make resolutions, maybe you can call them goals. I am a huge believer in new beginnings. I find having them sets a tone in my life and gives me eyes for new opportunities in life. no matter how great or small they are.

Some opportunities are handed to us and others are the ones we make for ourselves. Some are inward, regarding the soul, others are physical goals like loosing some of that holiday weight. Some will be simple, like buying less nail polish, some life-altering, and others will feel meaningless by this time next year.

But I love New Year’s Eve day so much, because of that powerful feeling of a brand new start coming our way, so every year at this time, I get alone with my thoughts, and search the purposes of my heart.

It means so much to me, it is like a ritual. It is extremely personal. And it is the way that makes room in my life to look back at what was and be thankful for it, release it, and move on to recieve whatever new is about to come my way.

So a very Happy New Year’s Eve and goodbye 2020. With God, I l have learned to feel more and mourn what was. When I was tired and discouraged, I dug deep and I fought to not loose heart. I prayed, then prayed some more, and through it all I found peace. I hope you too will find whatever peace you are looking for.

Leave a comment